Travelling as a lifestyle has it’s ups and downs. Being able to explore different cities around the world is what keeps us going stronger everyday. In all honesty the ability to let go of life’s requirements seems to be pretty hard. I found myself happy in the moment, taking in all that life has to offer me, but then sometimes I see people who are living the traditional life and I wonder am I missing out on something?

I think it’s because it’s so distilled into us that working a proper job, getting a partner and settling down is part of the journey. And sure that is something that I do want, and I do get slightly envious of people that are in these situations but that slowly dissipates as I am sat here in Laos at a Couch Surfer’s place. Freedom. The ability do what I want, when I want. I’ve come to realise that everyone has their own journey in life, whether it makes them happy or sad, or perhaps it’s not the route they want but it’s their journey.

We owe it to ourselves to choose our own path. To be able change it and not feel judged for doing it. We are our own worst enemy. 

Who are we to pick right from wrong? To tell someone how to live their lives? Like so many before us, in the end we are just trying to stay afloat. Survive. Breathe. Do what feels good at the moment and take each day as it comes. Life comes in wonderful little patterns of ups and downs and when you feel that up, well it’s enough to keep you going.

Leave a Reply

